Beating My Head Against the Wall

PicMonkey Collage for Blog July 12 2013

Last night, I decided to back up the pictures on my iPhone to my laptop to clear out some space on my phone.   I must admit it had been quite a while since I had done this — basically because every time I plug my phone into my laptop something horrifying happens.  The last time I remember syncing my phone, I lost all of my contacts — I have no idea why, but it took me three hours to get them back.

So, I have backup avoidance issues with my iPhone.  Just thinking about it gives me a headache.  I should have had the extra-strength Advil close by last night, but for some reason, I was hopeful that this time would be different.  I was just going to move my pictures from one device to another.  Simple, right?

Ha!  Somewhere the ghost of Steve Jobs is mocking me.  (Theological Side Note:  I don’t really believe in ghosts or haunting, but I guess I have watched too many episodes of Scooby Doo…).

For some reason, only half of my pictures transferred when I synced.   All my lovely pictures from April to July were safely stored on my hard drive, but pictures from Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter were trapped in an iPhone jail.

After many failed attempts, I decided my only recourse was to e-mail myself the pictures one at a time in order to save them to my computer.  Really?  Do you know how long that would take?

I finally closed my laptop in frustration and went to bed.   My husband had been happily snoring beside me for quite some time.  He looked so peaceful while I brooded beside him in  my cyber-infused melancholy.

I sighed deeply and closed my eyes.  As I lay there listening to the melodic snores, I finally stopped striving.  I just rested.  I breathed out a simple prayer from my heart to God:  “Lord, help me with my dumb phone.  I can’t make it work, and it’s driving me crazy.”

Y’all, tonight I got home, sat down with my laptop, clicked one button and boom — all my sweet pictures moving happily from one place to another.  It was a beautiful moment.

Why do I strive?  I try to make things work.  I beat my head against the wall.  I worry.  I fret.  I think situations and people are beyond help.  Then, I finally give up trying, and I pray.  I surrender my impossible to God.

Boom.  God makes everything new.

Why do I doubt?  It happens every time.

But you, dear friends,

carefully build yourselves up in this most holy faith

by praying in the Holy Spirit,

staying right at the center of God’s love,

keeping your arms open and outstretched,

ready for the mercy of our Master, Jesus Christ.

This is the unending life, the real life!

Jude 1: 20-21, MSG

Q4U:  What impossible situation are you praying about right now?  Do you have a verse that gives encourages you as you wait?  I would love to hear your story…

My one-word focus for the year is “fruitilicious.”  Find out what that meanhere.

Thanks for stopping by!  I would love to connect with you on FacebookTwitter, or Pinterest.

Joining like-minded sisters today at Tell His Story, Hear it on Sunday: Use it on Monday and Playdates with God.

15 responses

  1. On my mind for the past several days has been the verse from Romans 12:2 “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” I have something I’ve been trying to let go of for several years and my prayers to God are big ones and I know He wants to renew my way of thinking and make me new.
    I was so happy to read how your pictures appeared! God is SO good!
    Blessings to you Lyli.

    • Beth, that verse in Romans is one of my favorites. I remember learning in church that the word “transform” in the original Greek comes from the same root as the word “metamorphosis.” It encouraged me so much to realize that I am on a journey, and growth will take time. Praying for you tonight as you continue on your journey toward “letting go.” Standing with you in agreement. One day soon, you will grow wings and fly. Hugs

  2. Dear Lyli
    One thing I need tons of grace for is to accept the limitations of Fm/CFS! I try so hard to accept this illness, but I am at that place where I need to admit defeat and ask our Lord to help me!
    Luv to you XX
    Mia

  3. I have experienced this very insight in the same way so many times, Lyli. I don’t know why I’m so slow to learn! I’m grateful that God cares about even the tiniest of details and lovingly cares for his children.

    • We’ve had a couple of big prayer requests answered this weekend, Laura. I have prayed and prayed… and in one week several things have just fallen right into place seamlessly… I think God loves to surprise us… He always catches me unaware… it’s like He says: “I did this one, kid. See, I’ve got you covered.”

  4. I have similar trouble when I plug my phone into my laptop. I always do so with fear and trembling. 🙂 “cyber-infused melancholy” – I relate to that too. ha.

    Great lesson about surrender. I’m currently trying to surrender worrisome thoughts about a situation that is totally out of my control. I *know* the Lord is big enough to handle it, and to handle it properly, if I’ll just keep my hands off it and let him do his thing in his timing.

  5. This has happened too many times to count for me Lyli. And the sad part? I have soul amnesia every single time. Always have to be reminded that He is in control and I just need to let go. You told this so wonderfully.

  6. It blows my mind that the Creator of the Universe is interested even in the little details of our lives! And yet, so often, I don’t even think to ask His help ….

    Something struck me when I read the scripture at the end of your post, “ready for the mercy of our Master, Jesus Christ.” Ready for mercy. Ready for mercy makes it sound like I should EXPECT mercy …

    Thanks for giving me this nugget to ponder …

  7. Pingback: Lessons Learned in 3D — The Soap Box | 3-D Lessons for Life

Join the conversation and share your thoughts! :)